Astronomy in NZ

Every human’s wish when they stare up the stars is to have a feel of what professional astronomers view through their magnificent telescopes. Or invariably imagine themselves holding a 4m-diameter Anglo-telescope designed by neighbouring Australia.

One of the best places in the world to fully explore the night sky is undoubtedly New Zealand. The world’s largest Dark Sky Reserve and the only Dark Sky sanctuary in the world was established here because of its clear sky. One of the only eight Gold Level Reserves in the world and the only one found in the Southern Hemisphere is the Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve. Located in the Mackenzie District, the 4357 sq km Reserve experiences a zero level of light pollution in the area.

A Dark Sky Sanctuary is an area that has a nocturnal environment and a unique quality of starry nights. These sanctuaries are protected for their natural, scientific and their educational value which do not exclude public enjoyment or cultural heritage. The Great Barrier Island/Aotea is the third place in the world to be allocated as a sanctuary and it’s now known as an International Dark Sky Sanctuary. New Mexico and Chile are hosts to the other two sanctuaries.

In NZ, there are over 40 locations from North to the South recommended below for night sky viewing. The weather in NZ can be tricky, so don’t fret when you notice cloudy skies at night, it will return back to normal in a few days time. Try to engage the locals as they have knowledge of the sky like the back of their hand.

New Zealand’s astronomical field is broad as it ranges from institutional centres to attraction sites and guided tours. Observatories by are being operated by astronomical societies for visitors, they dedicate time and effort to share their New Zealand’s Night Skies knowledge to visitors.

Note: This is done voluntarily by these groups without charge, but a little token or donation can be handed out as a form of appreciation.

Astronomical Societies in The North Island

  • Hamilton Astronomical Society, Waikato
  • Gisborne Astronomical Society, Gisborne
  • Hawera Astronomical Society, Taranaki
  • Rotorua Astronomical Society, Bay of Plenty
  • Phoenix Astronomical Society, Wairarapa
  • Horowhenua Astronomical Society, Manawatu
  • Hawkes Bay Astronomical Society, Napier
  • Northland Astronomical Society, Northland
  • Whanganui Astronomical Society, Manawatu
  • Tauranga Astronomical Society, Bay of Plenty
  • Whakatane Astronomical Society, Bay of Plenty
  • Wellington Astronomical Society, Wellington
  • Palmerston North Astronomical Society, Manawatu
  • New Plymouth Astronomical Society, Taranaki
  • Auckland Astronomical Society, Auckland

Astronomical Societies in The South Island

  • Southland Astronomical Society, Southland
  • Astronomy Section, Nelson Science Society, Nelson
  • Canterbury Astronomical Society, Canterbury
  • Dunedin Astronomical Society, Otago
  • Oxford Area School Observatory, Canterbury
  • South Canterbury Astronomy Group, South Canterbury
  • Ashburton Astronomy Group, Canterbury
  • Central Otago Astronomical Society, Central Otago
  • North Otago Astronomical Society, Otago
  • Oxford Area School Observatory, Canterbury
  • South Canterbury Astronomy Group, South Canterbury

For public telescope viewing, you can consider The Big Seven:


Designing your dream house would be much easier if you are collaborating with one of the country’s best home builders. Check out architectural builders Lincoln now to know more about home designs. 


Let landscape architects Christchurch design your outdoor space to create your ultimate dream garden. 

You will decrease your electrical bill when you use solar panel to your home. Contact solar panels Hawkes Bay now. 

Do you love to skate?
Electric Rider offers the best electric skateboards in NZ.

Are you looking to get your kitchen painted? Call Gold Coast rendering now and experience a high-end quality finish. 

Are you looking for Italian furniture? Look no further, check out Ultimate Living Italian furniture today! 

Get great deals when you book a reservation with car rentals Kerikeri airport. Promos may end without prior notice so hurry, and contact them now!

There’s no other place to go for your dental needs other than orthodontics Auckland. They provide the best dental care for their clients.

You should always contact an experienced technician to get advice on the maintenance of your heat pump unit. Try heat pump installation Christchurch, and see the difference from the rest. 

Do you have a broken appliance? Call appliance repairs Auckland now for your immediate needs. 

When air conditioning and heat pump units need some servicing, who are you going to call? The heat pumps Tauranga!

If you are one of those people who loves collecting toy cars then you should check RC cars NZ.

Do you want to renovate your café Queenstown kitchen but want to stay within the budget? And yes, it is possible! Contact kitchen design Christchurch to get a quote. 

Secure your belongings with self storage Christchurch. It is the most convenient way to store your belongings when you are away. 

If you are looking for an affordable and durable racing yacht sails, then you have to check out NZ Sail.